Wishful Thinking (acoustic pop punk)

How's the mix?

• Total voters

Big Thier

Hey y'all,

I haven't posted here in quite some time.

I've finally (almost) finished a song I've been working on for 9 months. I still need to listen with fresh ears + in the car + on monitors, but this is pretty much how it's gonna sound.

I would greatly appreciate feedback as I plan on making a few final tweaks this week before sending it to mastering.

(song starts at 0:20)

Final mix: Wishful Thinking 06082019finalmix.wav - Google Drive

Thanks so much!

Last edited:
This is really nice.

The singer reminds me of Ben Folds.

The vibe is slightly country.

Mix sounds very nice thru my iPhone ear buds.

Very well done.

I really like the entire thing. The production is excellent. Instrument separation and placement is certainly exceptional. The choices for the tones and textures and effects used on each track really fit well together..........except.........for the vocal. You may have wanted to purposely create that distinction for the vocal....but to be honest and certainly ONLY IN MY OPINION......it makes the vocal just a little too dry. The effects used throughout the song are so well done. Have you thought about just a touch of reverb and or delay on the vocal track? If you left everything the way it is that would be fine too. Just master it and let us hear it.

Thanks a lot for the comments.

The vocals is what I did last, and haven’t spent nearly as much time on VS the instrumental which I’ve been tweaking for months. I get what you’re saying for the reverb on them though and will try adding more. I tend to be conservative with reverb because in solo, it actually sounds like there’s quite a lot of reverb already, although not so much in the whole mix. There’s also some delay on them, but not a lot.

Will post an updated version later tonight.

I think you were totally right. See the first post, I added my new mix. Looking forward to hear your feedback on it.