Two songs of just me completed, accoustic modern, please listen and critique

undrgrnd studio

http://members.cox.net/dsmall3/dans_mp3s.htm

The first two songs are the only two worth listening to. They were done on my BR1180CD, the rest are just old ideas from a 4 track.

I would really appreciate some other musicians listening to my music and critiquing it for me. I know they aren't perfect, but with just me doing the performing, recording, and mixing it isn't easy to end up with something I am completely happy with. But I may be over critical of myself and would really like it for some of you who have years of experience playing and recording (I have been playing now for 13 years, just turned 25) to listen with a helpful critical ear.

Would you mind telling how many tracks and what is in there?

I hear at least 2 guitars, bass, percussion, and two vocals.

I'm not very experienced in mixing yet, but here's how I would have done it

Bass is nice and where it should be.
I'm not sure if the bongos should be hard right like that.
Since you have two vocals, I see why you panned it like that, but I think it would be more pleasing to have the lead vocal in the center. If you were to double the backup part (as in record it separately again) and pan hard left and right, you might have a more desirable result.

Do you have some kind of effect on the vocal? they might need to be brought up a bit more.

In the end of the song it's so nice sounding. I like that a lot.

On the songwriting/arranging end, it's very nice. The breaks in the song are a bit confusing though.

Yeah I'm still a mixing noob really. I assume you are talking about the song First Day of the Month. There are I believe 7 tracks.

Track 1: Rhthym guitar mid panned left
Track 2: Lead Vocal panned slight right
Track 3: Bass guitar center
Track 4: Back Vocal panned slight left
Track 5: Guitar finger picking/Lead Guitar mid panned right
Track 6: Lead guitar mid Panned left
Track 7: Cheesy bongo panned right