testing testing 1 2........ separation?

IanW-UK

Hi all. I'm ill, have the flu. I'm off work and feelin all sorry for myself :( so I improvised a horrible tune :p Then I decided I may as well make use of it and experiment on stuff. Todays experiment was to try and eq 3 distorted guitars that were recorded with the same geetar in the same way so that they were nicely separated in the mix. And also to fiddle about with depth using reverb and eq. I'm not very experienced at such stuff and I always find it really hard to track/mix more than 1 distorted geetar. I think it came out reasonably ok but I don't really know what i'm doing. So if you were mixing this, short of rerecording the parts, how would you get em separated? What frequencies do you think clash etc? I'm not too fussed if its too bassy or trebbley overall n whatnot as I did it in me cans and it's not really important in this instance. (or is it?)

still learnin,

Ian..........

Hi Ian,

Good job - sounds really well done, clear and defined - particularly for the mix being done with headphones.

I think the first two guitars which are most prominent sound really good - distinct, clear and obviously inhabiting two different EQ ranges.

The third guitar maybe had a little too much reverb on it, while it does push it to the back, it did take something away from the harmomic attack of this track. Maybe try increasing the pre-delay on the reverb to make it more apparent.

Get better soon!

:) Q.

Thanks guys,

Querty, I didn't know predelay had that effect. I learned somethin already :D Thanks I'll try that.

Cheers,

Ian........

Ian -

The pre-delay I was referring to is a function on your reverb.

It specifies a number of milliseconds for you to hear the "un-reverbed" sound, prior to the reverb wave hitting you. This is meant to reproduce nature - you hear the sound source first then you hear the verb'ed bounce from whatever walls and surfaces are near you.