request for recording/mixing/mastering critiques

KenekeBarnes

This is just a song I made with my band, and I'm looking for obvious improvements needed. I'm a pretty amateur sound guy, so any obvious critiques would be appreciated. No performance critiques, please. This was back when we first started. ;)

Don't laugh!

Equipment & techniques used:
- MXL condenser for drum overheads and vocals
- Shure SM57s for kick, snare, all other instruments
- Recorded on Firepod to Sonar
- Post: mixed, compressed vocals, snare, and overheads, reverb on vocals and whistle
- Recorded instruments together, vocals afterward
- Reduced highs of snare in order to separate cymbal overlap, but I think I deadened snare too much. :(

Sounds like the Irish National Anthem, lol. Nice song.

Ok, the recording...the biggest problem I hear right out of the chute is that guitar tone. It's all "fuzztone" with no meat. One of the first things you'll find about recording distorted gits is that less distortion = heavier sound, to a point, of course. If "heavy" were determined by the amount of distortion used, then we'd all just plug in 10 tubescreamers end to end and let her rip. The guitar on this is so distorted and thin that I originally thought it was some kind of radio noise.

Once you get a decent guitar tone, you might try double tracking it and putting the guitars left and right...I'm not on headphones right now, but the mix FELT like the guitar was mostly coming out of the right speaker. It's not a mixing crime or anything (listen to Panama by Van Halen...panned HARD to one side), but it helps when you've basically got drums (middle) bass (middle) vocal (middle) to spread the guitars around a bit.

The mix has other issues, but I'll let others have a go at it. Keep recording.

I cant listen to the mix properly at the moment because im on my laptop but will have a proper listen tomorrow on my PC.