Ready for prime-time?

Hi Track Rat!

I am new to this board. I traditionally hang out over at the TASCAM bbs but, I heard some good things about this board. I have also been lurking a while on and off.

I have an all analog studio. 16 track, 1" TASCAM MS16 and a custom made M324B console. I've been playing and recording for a little over 20 years and still love the hobby.

I mostly record rock and quieter acoustic music that I and a friend write together in a band called Short Sircuit. We do it for the love and fun of it and hopefully, I can be of assistance to some of the members here with my experience.

Cheers! :)

kjam22,

Great Dylan impression! Nice tune overall and great sound quality.

How do you get your MP3 to come out so much louder then mine?

I think yours sounds everybit as good... or probably better. Loudness... I dont' know..... I just have it mixed loud. I think sometimes volume is achieved with eq maybe better than it is with the sliders? I don't know.... I'm a learner.

But I recorded on a Yamaha AW4416 hard disk recorder.... and when I watch the meters on this song.... there is not any headroom left.

Liked your guitars a lot!

later

I listened to "set myself free".

Turn those danged vox up! Especially in the quieter "first part of the verse" parts. Very hard to hear.

It sounds like you could do with a little low-end boost on the vox. And I'd turn the drums down, or get em back further in the mix somehow. I wanna hear the vocals. I don't give a shit about drums.:)

This kinda takes me back to that "Day On The Green" I went to in the 80s... I like it. Good gutbucket 80s rock kinda stuff.

Chris

Listened to Set Myself Free, mix sounds good to me, like the vocal performance, plenty of feeling. As for the song, perhaps a bit too long for my taste without more variation, but I guess that's the style and just my impatience!. Nice driving tempo. Good work!

Jamie