"Pura Vida"

Amazing guitar skills ! Sounds like Ulli Jon Roth on acoustic guitars. But your voice is way better than his.

Last edited:
Man, your acoustic tone and playing just gets better and better! Vocals sound good - how long you been singing? Even the shaker sounds great! :eek: What's your main large diaphragm mic? Must be the room too....damn! That there was sure purrdy :) :D:cool:

fred-
thanks man, for the kind words. don't hear the name uli roth everyday! that's cool....
i can't say that i've ever heard him sing, yet i've heard him play all the way back to early scorpions....

aaronmcoleman
thanks for listening....
yes, it's hard to do this kind of tune, and NOT invoke memories of CSN...
sometimes people point to the Eagles, but the vibe is different on this one, probably closer to the CSN thing.

maximus
thanks man! for the kind words and all..
i've been singing since i was 6 years old, started in church.
i did a Full time road gig, playing in cover bands for almost 6 years.
i must have learned a thousand songs, and had to sing on most all of them, either backup or lead, that's a real good school for learning how to sing... trial by fire!!!
LOL
tech questions answered below--->

glomu
thanks, i appreciate it.

tomanderson1991
thank you, that guitar is my taylor 414.

Strumbone
i get the 'yes' thing fairly regularly....... don't understand it completely, but i have a lot of progressive music influences, and it sneaks out there and there.... i sing some high harmonies, and my guess it that somewhere in the way i do it, sounds familiar to folks who dig the old classic yes tunes.
i never learned a yes tune myself, but have always been a fan.

tech stuff:

taylorvh.jpg

I used my 2001 Taylor 414 for the guitar tracks...
close miced with a Audio Technica 4033 and a ADK Hamburg.