please tell me how i can improve this mix

sandwiches

hi...

how you all doing? i'm a newbie to home recording and also to this forum.

anyway, i was wondering if you guys could all review my latest song. i'm sorry, it's probably not up to "level" with everyone else's stuff, but i'm really inexperienced at this, so in particular, could you tell me things i could improve and stuff. i think i really need real people (that aren't my friends) to tell me what they really think.

please be brutally honest but (helpfully?) constructive. i mean, i'm working on 2 new tracks now and have learnt so much from doing this track becuase the process had so many "fatal" errors made along the way.

the song is called "happy apple trees" and it's at...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/6/sandwichesmusic.htm

thank you in advance.

First I want to say I think you a wonderful song here. Nice feel. I think you have some good ideas in terms of arrangement and mix.

Nice intro guitar and vocal....then things fall apart. :) Beat seems wrong to me but that's preference. Things really start distorting/clipping at :15. Lower those levels on the drums. Drums seem to be the culprit and maybe other things too. Distortion is really making it hard to listen to but I really like what's underneath. Vocals get covered up by the mud. Change up at 1:10 is nice. Cool sounds. Some good guitar ideas. Some picthiness in the vocals. Some cool harmonies. Panning for a couple lines at the end was cool. Maybe not that many times back and forth, but that's your call.

My advice is pull all the faders down on everything except the vocals and start bringing them back up. Watch for clipping. EQ on the low end will probably be needed.

Hopefully others can chime in to help out. I would love to hear you remix this.

BTW - You may want to post this at nowhere radio (as most folks here do). Soundclick makes you sign up which many times means no listens. Also, their download was way slow today.