Please judge my mix (guitar,bass and drums) :)

porkplan

I just started learning how to mix this past month. I learned a few things but I'm still not confident enough about my music production skills. Maybe you guys can help me, I just need feedback on how I can improve this track that I just finished. Song construction and sloppy playing aside. I want to know what you guys think about the mix and recording quality. I haven't mastered the track yet just mixed it.

When I listened through the speakers it sounded okay to me but using headphones it seems like the rhythm part in 0:20 needs improvement and some other levels of the guitars are sort of inconsistent

https://soundcloud.com/gian-luigi-candava/my-mix

If you guys need to see the eqs that I made I'll just upload them :)

Thanks for sharing! First, you've got a GREAT bass tone, and a lovely lead guitar tone. Also, I enjoyed the fact that your music has some great dynamics, which are solely lacking in so much music today. Some thoughts:

Drums
-Quite unbalanced. Overheads are far too loud for the rest of the kit. The ride and crash cymbals feel like they were played on their own as an overdub and pasted on top. Pull them back a good amount so that the kit feels like one person.
-You're losing the kick drum in the bass tone. This is often one of the trickiest parts in mixing. Find the sweet spot of your kick drum (somewhere in the 60-80hz range usually) and boost with a high Q 2-4db. Then cut the same out of the bass. This gives the kick just a little place to sit.

Guitars
-Rhythm guitars need to come up a bunch. They sound like they're being played down the hall in another room, and somehow ended up on this recording. Push them up closer!
-Lead guitar is too far out front. Back it off a few db, and sit it in the middle of this mix. It can take the place of the vocals in an instrumental, so put it front and center. Right now it sounds panned off to the left.

Hope this helps!