Pitch test

danny83

So I had another vocal lesson today and my teacher told me to sing semi-acapella to my friends so that they can tell me every time my pitch is off.

I'm a little shy to sing around my friends, so I thought I'd share it with you guys.

-Sound ok?
-Pitch problems that you hear?
-Thanks, much apprectiated :)

"learn some" doesn't quite up there....

"fate" and "I'm yours" seemed a bit off too....the good news is...

you have a fabulous voice. Either that or your a whiz at computer vocal correction.

I've been singing seriously for nearly 15-16 years now, and been singing in general ever since I was a little kid....bottom line, I know a thing or two about quality and I like your tone a lot. Pitch is very good overall also. If your vocal teacher said otherwise then fire him/her. Right now.

The funny thing about the style of music that you sang in that piece (did you write that by the way?) is that a large amount of the pitches are fungible. The softer notes are usually given more of a vocalization rather than an actual distinct pitch....and theres a lot of inexact sliding associated with that style too (trailing off, sliding up, etc). You nailed all the aspects of what that song should probably sound like. That is CD ready.

The last thing (because of post length) is that you did really well hitting every pitch in a lot ofc those 3-4 note runs that you have in there. Don't let anyone tell you thats easy because its not. You hear radio stars everyday who can't do that. It takes skill to give them good separation so that you can hear each note while still singing them on pitch.

Congratulations..............you can call yourself a good singer.

Wow, I must have posted this at just the right time! Thanks for the quality and thoughtful response, and even better that you're experienced in vocals! I'm still fairly new at it (Singing for around 5 years, lessons for about 6-8 months).