New Rock Song - Let it Rain - my first song post

maximusbs

Brad Smith Music
This is my first attempt at recording my own vocals to my music :eek: Like some others here, I hate the sound of my voice, but I've been working on it.
I would like to know what my overall 'sound' is like. I know it's rock, but what sub-genre and decade, i have no idea. Does my vocal fit the music? And finally, how's the mix, placement, guitar tones, effects, performance, etc.? This is the first mix and not mastered. Thanks for listening.

Brad

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=1058589

Hey man, nice song. It sounds kind of mid 80's except with less reverb. :laughings:
Some mix advice: the snare should come down a bit, and maybe take some of the lower-mid frequencies out. The bass could be a little louder. The hard panned vocals can be a tiny bit quieter. Also, the guitar solo is a bit loud.
(I say "bit" a lot)
Be glad that these are simple fixes :D

Good job with this. The quality is good too. By the way, your singing voice isn't bad at all.

The vocals need to come down a bit to fit better in the mix. You kinda sound like Zakk Wylde by the way. Bass needs to come up, too. I like the effects on your vox. Turning down the volume should make them less prominent, I guess. Overall good recording. Good quality.

I liked the song. It's a good toe tapper.

I thought the mix was pretty thin and narrow.

The guitars lacked fullness. I think the gain might have been turned up a little too much. It made them a bit fizzy. They're also pretty low in the mix.

The reverb on the vocals didn't fit the feel of the song for me. This is more a power pop mix and the verb might have worked well on some weird old Bowie song. I'd also keep the doubled lead tracks down the center.

Tough to hear the bass.

Drums sound a little "programmy." :)