new mix of "Deal" still needs work - constructive criticism required!

Simes

Heya kids,

A couple of weeks back I got some encouraging feedback and constructive criticism about my track "A Slight Case Of..." - also mention was made of improving the vocal tracks in "Deal". Low and behold, I've gone and recut the vocals, but this tune is prooving mighty tough to mix. I'd appreciate any suggestions as to blending this beast a little better.

The current mix can be found at http://mp3.com/ulcerate - and the track is the second one down called "Deal".

My ears hope you can assist.

Simon
Ulcerate

The Song "Deal"

Although I'm not a professional, I am an excellent critic!

I found the song quite bass heavy and the vocals a trite loud in the mix. There was a lot of extreme reverb on the voals that might sound a little clearer if the reverb was more subtle. I enjoyed the song though it reminded me of some of the early 90's "shoegazer" type bands like "Catherine Wheel" and "Ride". May I ask what country and city you guys are based in?

An excellent critic indeed!

I was looking for deeper problems with the mix itself, but amazing what a couple of changes can do to make the blend better.

I dropped the bassline about 5db in the mix and also dropped all the vocal tracks around 3db each, depending on the section, there's a little layering going on, but the result is better than it was. I've posted that to the mp3.com site - http://mp3.com/ulcerate and it should be live sometime today.

Someone at a review site who does a bit of licensing work for film soundtracks actually asked me to put together a drumless version of the track - so I took up the challenge and subsequently dropped the vocals as well. The resulting track is a spacey remix with reminds me of a poor man's Sonic Youth meets Swans meets Dirty 3. The loss of the groove and the vocals exposed some flaws in the guitar tracks, but I like that!