Need Some Constructive Feedback Please

savedbygrace

I'm no professional - just do it for fun - would you mind listening to couple of songs. First track is all MIDI - just an instrumental of "The Closer I Get To You" - Second track is MIDI plus some guitars "Rainey Nights In Georgia" (no vocals yet). Equipment: SB 512, Audio Buddy, Roland JV1080, Telecaster, cheap Acoustic - looking for some feedback or ideas - I really enjoy everybody's ideas and suggestions - thanks
http://www.famwebsite.net/music.html

OK...

First tune:
Strings bled together and the drums sounded kinda' cheap. That lead was pretty freaky for this type tune. If you played that all yourself then good job. If you just loaded a MIDI file into your sequencer then you need to work on some original stuff. You can do it ...

Second tune:
See first tune...

The "electric guitar" was way in the back of the mix and totally disapeared on several occasions.

Oh yea... Try placing your songs somewhere so they will stream. Waiting for a download kinda' bites.

See Ya
Dennis

Disclaimer: I have no clue what I'm talking about.

Opinions

Thanks rustyringers - fair and objective suggestions - I did play it all live - you are right, my drums are weak (and boring to me- I try to keep them simple) - just Roland JV1080 drums - could use some work - any suggestions on how to get the guitar "out front"? - I am limited on plugins (just using Cakewalk Home) - I understand I am limited with what I have and can only do so much (again, just a hobby, used to play in the 70's) - also, I will let the friend who put it up on his website to look at the "streaming" part - again thanks for time - I enjoyed your thoughts and will work on them.

I listened to the second song.

Generally pretty nice.

On your question about bringing up the guitar... One thing that seemed strange was that it was plenty loud during the intro, then seemed to fall off once the song kicked in. I'd first answer that question.