Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Need an opinion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Arrow Need an opinion

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi, I have some very amateur recordings of my band up on mp3.com, just wondering if anybody would care to give us some advice on improving our studio techniques, sound, and even if you guys think the songs are good. Bear in mind, at the time, our recording knowledge was limited, and I do understand that these are poor quality. I'm just looking for some feedback that's all. If you want to bash me go ahead, if you want to praise me, that's fine too. Anyways check us out

    www.mp3.com/buckshot_plevna

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Northern Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    5,374
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 502 Times in 487 Posts
    Rep Power
    19381610
    Listenend to "Sleeping Through." I liked the little bass line. The tune was nice enough. Especially catchy chorus (needs to be in tune though).

    Some execution things with the vocals... Love the double tracking on the lead. Some people don't like it so much, but I do. Gotta watch the syncing with the tracks - check out the word "before" at about :31. Even minor ones like the word "more" at :23 need to be watched. Punch-ins work well at fixing these things.

    Some pitch and other performance issues with the harmony vocals. I'd work at tightening them up.

    What's with that guitar solo? Major clipping going on with the drums at 2:04.

    I'll bet other people can offer more advice.

    Again, a catchy tune. Keep working at it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Gainesville, GA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    tempo?

    The tempo is a little sketchy at around 1:30 to 1:45...maybe its just me. Sounds like it speeds up and slows down a bit, but I've had about 7 beers at the moment..........;P

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the advice, keep 'em coming!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ^

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    outside your window....
    Posts
    1,026
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    89280
    Listened to "my own side". I like the song. The vocals sound especially good. Sound good for "very amateur" recordings.
    The distortion is a little messy when it comes in. I think if you used a gate you could tighten it up a little bit and get rid of some of the fret noise.

    -nilbog

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,232
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    15770430
    Hi there:

    Please tell me why I should listen to your recordings. (Bear with me here, I'm not a complete asshole normally, but I'll be one today for the sake of experiment). I mean, since you posted this tune, how many others have you offered opinions on?

    You could tell me to get bent, but I really REALLY just want a serious answer to the question, lol. Why should I listen?

    thanks for putting up with my weirdness for today and today only, lol.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,232
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    15770430
    Originally posted by Nilbog
    I have access to the "custom avatar" language, even though I have fewer posts than that chrisharris asshole
    Hey Nil, how did you do the avatar thing..."too cool by half"

    ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    3,108
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    327624
    LOL..Im not gonna listen!!!!!!!!Bwahahahahaha!

    Fu** the mp3.com charts.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,232
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    15770430
    Originally posted by Kramer
    LOL..Im not gonna listen!!!!!!!!Bwahahahahaha!

    Fu** the mp3.com charts.
    That's my question...I mean, do they hand out money for that or what?...lol.

    Good to see your tune back, K.

    I will listen again. Maybe you'll chart again?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •