My new song 'Indiscretion'

randyfromde

So I got a MXL V67 to try and make my vocals a little better sounding over a Shure PG57 dynamic. I also experimented with double tracking the vocals for the chorus, something I've never done before due to voice limitations! If you could listen and answer these questions, or make other comments, it'd be greatly appreciated!

1. How is the overall mix? Are the vocals too loud?
2. Does the double tracked vocal part work for the song?
3. Too much reverb?

Hey man, maybe the vocals are a touch too loud, not much though...I'm really thinking some harmonies would work in the chorus rather than double-tracking....especially on the did last night line.

Second listen, the vocals are a touch flat in the section around 2:15, I think this needs some percussion maybe coming in around the second verse...not sure what...maybe a shaker or an egg....just a thought.

Great job.

Nice Mic!

Your vocals sound very authentic.
I think I will have to look into a mic like that.
The guitar playing was very good as well

Thanks guys for your replies!

"Your vocals sound very authentic.
I think I will have to look into a mic like that."

I've never used any high dollar equipment, so I can't compare that mic to something more expensive, but I really do like the MXL V67. That mic, along with my Oktava MK-012 pair, got me more a much clearer and more accurate sound on this song over the Shure PG57 I used to be using.

Jazzy. Few intonation issues here and there in the vocals, I'm sure you are aware of them. Only a couple though, tricky sing over that stuff. Well done. The doubled vocals work, but sound kinda flanged for some reason. Backup vocals could be added for sure.

Nice guitar playing.

I bought a MXL V67 yesterday myself! Still tooling around with it to find the good sound settings (I use my triton studio for everything, basically).

You have a good clean tone from the mic...tell me more about the setup you used.