Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Metalhead28, your opinion please.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    327

    Metalhead28, your opinion please.

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Yes, I am summoning you by name!

    Just wanted you to take a listen to this metal band I recorded yesterday. I left out the vocals because I just wanted to focus on the instrumental mix right now.

    http://www.ffaudio.com/music/attacka...eve-instru.mp3


    I haven't done a lot of mixing yet, just cutting out guitar hiss and stuff and then I put the snare and kick to some parallel compression. Also eqed the bass so the kick could punch through. I noticed on the bassist's amp that he had a giant boost at 40hz so I decided to let the bass guitar live below the kick drum instead of above as I usually do.

    Anyway, advice?

    (And yes, you can of course reply if you're not Metalhead28.)
    Last edited by Chris.; 03-26-2007 at 01:20.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    enka nc
    Age
    28
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    16138

    i like

    hey i listen to it and i love the way you recorded the drums
    i think they might be just a little too loud, but then thats just my personal opinion
    but besides that i like the way the guitars sound really clean

    could you listen to my recording of my metal band and give me some of that constructive critisicm please

    www.myspace.com/fallofgomorrah
    myspace.com/earthandpoets
    myspace.com/fallofgomorrah

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a van down by the river
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,836
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1371382
    Hey man the drums sound great. There are a couple of things I might change...
    I think the snare has a little much in the 250 or 300 range. I think it might sit better with a little cut there, and maybe a boost up high for more bite - like around 5k. Just an opinion though. It still sounds good.
    I just tried a wide boost on the whole mix from around 2.5 to 5k and I think it helped out because it sounds just a little dull there.
    I think the kick might be a little loud, or maybe the guitars could come up a bit instead.

    This sounds great cranked up, nice work!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ma's acre, Killinois
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,213
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1413781
    Nice, lemme hear more!
    [URL=http://www.myspace.com/cellardwelling]I kick babies for beer[/URL]

    [URL=http://forum.grailtone.com/index.php]The Boogie Board (Mesa/Boogie)[/URL]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    327
    Yay for positive feedback. I'll post some more with vocals when I get that far. Thanks for listening guys!


    And just for the record, the name of that song is "I Can't Believe We're Eating People."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    327
    Oh, and I guess I'll post one more instrumental just because I like it.


    http://www.ffaudio.com/music/attacka...ing-instru.mp3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Scotland, Glasgow
    Posts
    4,600
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1082685
    Drums are too loud.Especially at the intro. As MetalHead said, take some low end off and add some high end to get more snap.
    The snare really dominates the mix although it shouldnt.
    I dont like the toms. Maybe a bit to much attack on them?
    Bass and guitars sound nice.

    Some tweaking and it could sound pretty decent.

    Eck

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    327
    Here's one with vocals and I think hopefully better mixed!


    http://www.ffaudio.com/music/attacka...eartist-m1.mp3

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Scotland, Glasgow
    Posts
    4,600
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1082685
    Sounds better.Snare couls still do with less low end and a bit more high end snap. Try cutting the low mids at around 200-300 maybe.
    Tom hits around 45 are too loud. Also do the same roughly for the toms as Im saying you should do for the snare. Then tweak to taste.

    Your getting there.
    Eck

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    enka nc
    Age
    28
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    16138
    hey can you hear my first recording of a metal band and tell me what you think

    www.myspace.com/fallofgomorrah

    like i said ...this is my first recording of my metal band so dont expect much

    digi001
    16 track mixer..no buses.. 4 outs
    behringer c-3
    protools 6.4
    mac g4 dual core
    ibanez stack
    (i borrowed someones 57's to mic the amps)
    jackson
    epiphone les poul
    myspace.com/earthandpoets
    myspace.com/fallofgomorrah

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What's the opinion on the new Beatle record??
    By MickB in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2007, 10:39
  2. Creative Prodikeys Keyboard - your opinion?
    By Hanic in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 00:26
  3. Give me YOUR opinion???
    By RBrez in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-12-2003, 16:20
  4. Opinion on Joe Meek Mic & Pre-Amp?
    By Knopfler Fan in forum Microphones
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-11-2003, 17:04
  5. Opinion of the Line 6 POD 2.0
    By tjorenby in forum Guitars and Basses
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-01-2003, 12:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •