Joe Johnston -- Selah

joejohnston

Hi! Not sure how this works--my name is Joe Johnston, I'm an amateur singer/songwriter from Austin, Texas, currently doing full time mission work in Guadalajara, Mexico. I have no formal education in music, and not anything special gear-wise, just a voracious appetite to learn and an overdose of optimism. I love music, words, and putting them together--hearing people's songs and writing them one of my own. Some of you may know what it's like when you write a song and you just can't get it out of your head, have to record it. But then the mix has to NOT make people want to rip their own ears out of their heads, and that's the tough part.

I have been eating up everything I can find about music production, mixing, and recording for the last few years. Specifically, a friend loaned me some books by Anthony Egizii, Bobby Owsinski, Bob Katz, etc., which have helped me to grasp..... mainly how much I don't know. This site was recommended to me by a friend, to hopefully get some advice on my mixes, and learn--and contribute what I can.

I wanted to post a rough mix of a HAPPY, BOUNCY song I'm working on, and hopefully get some feedback on the mix. (Beware if you are offended by pro-Christian material---the lyrics are Psalm 98.)

Selah --

What do you all think? Is the mix hard on your ears? How about the groove, can you feel it? Does it make you smile?

Joe.

Hey Joe--

Welcome to the board! Don't worry about apologizing for blatantly Christian material! There's a lot of believers around here who will get it, and just as importantly, even the folks who aren't Christians will give any tune a fair shake--regardless of the content.

I'm listening on some cheap earbuds, so I can't speak to the mix much (though I'll listen again later on some decent speakers), but I can say that I like the groove. Light and funky--very fun. Matches the feel of that Psalm quite well I'd say. And I like your voice--really fits the tune.