Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Jangly Pop Song For Review

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216457

    Jangly Pop Song For Review

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi everyone,

    I'm pretty happy with this little ditty, but I thought I'd solicit your guys' opinions on this mix:

    http://www.cominginsecond.com/MP3/Objective_Perfect.mp3

    Are the vocals at the right level? Are there any obvious problems with it?

    thanks in advance for your help,

    Jeremy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma city
    Age
    59
    Posts
    445
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Re: Jangly Pop Song For Review

    LOL...... my vote for MP3 Clinic theme song!

    Good mix... good song.... good vocals. Great lyrics.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216457

    Re: Re: Jangly Pop Song For Review

    Originally posted by kjam22
    LOL...... my vote for MP3 Clinic theme song!

    Good mix... good song.... good vocals. Great lyrics.
    Thanks! I almost forgot there's some recording-related lyrics in there.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Northern Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    5,374
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 502 Times in 487 Posts
    Rep Power
    19381610
    I really liked the song. Real catchy tune. Cool guitar parts. Some good lines in there. Some "clunky" ones too, but overall real good. Made me smile.

    Didn't care for the strings in the middle break. I would opt for a "jangly" guitar solo.

    The background "ahs" were kind of "throaty." I think they'd sound better if they were more "breathy." Sorry can't come up with better words to describe what I'm thinking.

    Something weird with the lead vox. Some strange panning. Were they doubled? They sounded odd on headphones.

    The vocals need to come forward a bit. Probably compressed heavier too.

    Hope I helped maybe make it a better song. I enjoyed it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma city
    Age
    59
    Posts
    445
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19
    What if you keep the synth instrumental for 8 measures.....then do the jangley guitar thing for the next 8?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216457
    Actually those were real violins coupled with synth. The synth is barely audible though. The violins are my favorite part, so I'm keeping them the whole way through. Thanks for the suggestions though.

    The panning kicks in when the doubled vocal comes in. I've never noticed anything weird about it (even on headphones) but I'll give it another listen.

    Maybe the vocals do need to come up. I was thinking that myself, but I was going back and forth about it. Maybe I'll push them up a db or so.

    Thanks for your input! I really appreciate it. This song is my baby.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Yeah, I'd say half a db up on the vox. Everything else sounds good to me.

    Neat song. I liked it. No other complaints.

    Nice!

    Chris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakewood, CA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    18
    Cool pop song. I liked the vocals and bg vocals, but the reverb on them sounded a bit out of place -- imho -- They sound like they need to be more up front.

    I really liked the violins on here. They added another color to the overall sound and really brightened it up.

    Nice job!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    216457
    Originally posted by boydrj
    Cool pop song. I liked the vocals and bg vocals, but the reverb on them sounded a bit out of place -- imho -- They sound like they need to be more up front.
    Hmmm, that gives me something to think about. I'll mess around with that when I get home.

    Thanks for your feedback, and for the kind words!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    638
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    I really like this song. Overall, I like the feeling.

    The primary peeve I have, about 80% of the 'songs' I listen to on this board is that they lyric is not intelligible. And you have excellent pronunciation, and I speak four different languages, and can sing in any language ... so what's wrong ?

    I literally cannot understand the lyric ... on the first listening.

    You know the lyrics, we don't. You could mix this song with the vocal fader on -INF, and still 'hear they lyrics'.

    You may be convinced you have mixed 'your' vocal well but 9 times out of 10 the vocal is buried in either sibilance caused by an overuse of EQ on the highs and mids of the vocal, or an overuse of reverb and effects in general. Or the vocal is just plain buried.

    This song is a 'lyrically driven pop song' and will not survive if the listener has to struggle for 'an instant' to understand any one of the words. Don't fool yourself and don't cheat us out of the words and your vocal.

    The violins are much, much, much louder than the vocal. That's absurd, and I'm a violinist !

    If your listener feels for a 'second' that they will encounter a struggle at any point in the song ... for an instant ... a struggle to understand the words ... they will listen to something else.

    This is a very 'listenable' song, very REMish ...

    You are too good of a singer to hide your vocal in all this machinery, software and trash.

    It has been my GREAT PLEASURE to hear many participants on this board 'come out of thier vocal shells' and blossom, and that does not necessarily mean 'start to sing better', it means 'vocal mixed appropriately'.

    You have no headroom in the song for the vocal.

    The reason this is such a big peeve of mine is the vocals in this song are of very good quality and it really pisses me off that you believe that the instruments, the drums, the guitars, the violins are anywhere near as important as the vocal. Look at the meters. If the meters for the electric guitar and the vocals are the same ... which one is much, much louder in actuality ?

    Drums are dime a dozen, violins are worth a nickel, violas ... worthless ... cellos ... garbage ... when compared to a well sung, hook laden vocal with GOLDEN harmony vocals.

    The vocal is 'the star' in this tune, the violin is a 'prop'.

    Don't cheat us of the very fine harmony vocals in this tune.

    A record executive will not listen a second time to understand your lyrics because ... they don't have time, we are very, very special listeners on this board, we 'really' listen.

    Don't cheat us on the lyrics, don't cheat yourself.

    Take the instrument levels DOWN ... DO NOT bring the vocal levels up. CREATE HEADROOM for the vocal, and then normalize.

    If you will mix the vocal much more dry, and mix it way, way, way out on top and out front, the violin would be much more enjoyable, as it is, it's a nuisance, it steals the show.

    I hear and just jammed with your tune a really neat viola and then violin line that fills on the vocal 'melody' not the words, just the melody, because I"m not going to kick myself in the ass to understand the words.

    This tune is really ripe for a full treating throughout the entire song for live strings ... very REM ...

    I wish you'd mix the vocal properly and let me have a go at collaborating with you on this one.
    Performing and recording with real violin, viola, and cello for bands and artists.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •