Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Instrumental rock track - need advice and opinions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    173

    Instrumental rock track - need advice and opinions

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I posted this up a couple of weeks back in rough form, but it was a downloadable file rather than a direct link. I now have it as a direct link, and I am now pretty close to being happy with the mix. I just really need some outside opinions on it, as I'm very much in the still learning period regarding mixing etc. One big difference between it now and a couple of weeks ago is my use of the Kjaeurhus Golden EQ which I am currently on a free trial of. I have also added a couple of other lead guitar tracks, and there is some compression/limiting on the output buss. Ignore the couple of seconds of drums in the intro and bear in mind the last few seconds will be a fade out in the final version. Look forward to your thoughts and opinions

    http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?fid=3073

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    173
    Anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Between a rock and a hard face
    Posts
    11,570
    Thanks
    304
    Thanked 184 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474861
    I like the intro but could hear some extraneous noise, tapping, bumping something?
    The snare sound is too light & digital.
    Sounds good - couldn't download your original post.
    The bass needs a little top end. On the main part & solo - WOW bass solo. The drum solo isn't convincing for the same reason as the snare comment.
    Otherwise be happy.
    Cheers
    rayC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Age
    50
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The guitars are the best sounding part of the recording. The drums have a very mechanical sound and the bass tone is very round and thumpy. On a track like this it needs more pop and high end as RayC said.

    I'd consider adding some form of clean track to support the chord implications as well as to give it some high end throughout.

    Compositionally it's decent too. There is a repeatable theme that works although it doesn't reach out and say listen to me again and again. I'd say you certainly have a building block here and with the technical talent of the bass and guitar playing there should be plenty of avenues to explore.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    173
    Many thanks for your feedback ray/Mark

    I'll definetely add some top end to the bass, and perhaps change the snare sound. I did the drums with the Jamstix standard kit, but have a bunch of other kits and sounds with it, so this should be no problem. Yeah, I did wonder if it was a little thin on the ground in terms of rhythm guitar tracks - I might record a clean one to compliment the others. Not sure about the noise in the beginning, I probably forgot to cut out something in the first few seconds. As for the composition, this one is definetely very much a 'get back in the saddle'(it's the first thing I've recorded in almost 2 years) piece and admittely a 'guitarists song' Thanks again for your feedback - much appreciated. I'll take it onboard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    173
    I've worked some more on it EQ-wise, particularly on the bottom end of the bass. I've also made the snare drum a little meatier and the kick a little punchier so it isn't clashing too much with the bass. Would really appreciate some feedback.

    http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?fid=3105

    Bear in mind that when I have finished mixing it I will probably brighten it up with some EQ on the output buss and also as I said earlier the entire thing will fade out at the end.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    173
    Anyone got any comments on the updated mix?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Age
    50
    Posts
    657
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1050753
    Hello!
    I did not listen previously versions but this one sounds pretty nice to me.
    Have you consider to make a vocal version.
    I don't know but I think it has almost all elements for good rocky vocal song.
    It doesn't hit my as an instrumental.

    Bass is fine but still there is something what missing in it. Maybe just a mix.
    Another solo guitar what begins at 1,24 in the background and it's place in whole mix is strange. It goes for to long.
    Would you consider loose it on some parts?

    I'm looking forward to hear more from you!
    See you!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by sikter
    Hello!
    I did not listen previously versions but this one sounds pretty nice to me.
    Have you consider to make a vocal version.
    I don't know but I think it has almost all elements for good rocky vocal song.
    It doesn't hit my as an instrumental.

    Bass is fine but still there is something what missing in it. Maybe just a mix.
    Another solo guitar what begins at 1,24 in the background and it's place in whole mix is strange. It goes for to long.
    Would you consider loose it on some parts?

    I'm looking forward to hear more from you!
    See you!
    Thanks for listening I dunno, maybe I'd consider a vocal version - my wife is a singer but I dunno if it's really her thing It's really just a jamalong, intended to get me back in the recording saddle(haven't recorded anything for almost 2 years). Yeah, I've been struggling with that background guitar, I just can't get it to fit. I dunno if it's an arrangement thing, a volume thing or an EQ thing why it doesn't fit Thanks for your comments, much appreciated!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    the South of Poland, Europe
    Age
    39
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    47
    Humbucker - I listened to the song at work on my samsung pc speakers so just a rough opinion. I'll take it home and listen to it on my studio8 speakers but for now ...
    The bass is killing - really georgeus sound - I've never recorded so well sounding frett bass,
    the drums are your weakness I guess, especially kick (too much low I guess, to less attack)
    the guitars sound ok but I'll tell you more when I listen to it at home, at first sight nice guitar playing though

    all for now
    lG

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Joe Meek Twin Q Advice? Thanks for opinions...
    By Billigan in forum The Rack
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-27-2006, 13:24
  2. mixing desk advice & opinions please.....!!!
    By AndyB in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 08:44
  3. Mobile Recording: Opinions & Advice
    By Arkology in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2004, 16:59
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-26-2002, 01:19
  5. new track need opinions good or shite let me know..link inside-->
    By 200g in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2002, 13:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •