Industrial, Trip Hop, Indie Rock... new to the mix... advice/opinions

JoeNovice

Junior Cheeseburger
Was told this was the place to post for a mp3 response....
I try to cover lots of styles cause I have lots of emotions. i dont like doin just heavy or just happy.... I like tring them all. three styles in the subject are posted at:

http://www.mp3.com/joenovice

Now to my point....

Sometimes when I listen to other peoples mp3's they are like mine... lifeless.... that mp3 sound.. muddy, fuzzy,etc.

Other times I hear a song and it sounds crystal clear.
What do they do differently during the mix... export to mono maybe?? use more/less...???

Well... thnx
J

i dig the song a lot!!!!on my computer at work,it sounds great!!i have been downloading mp3's all day listening to all the ones ,and so far,i like yours,what can i say?anyway there is an important thread that i think you shoild read.i am still a novice at computers so,still i don't know the clicking and dragging or i am lazy,so go into mixing and mastering and go to the thread that has spinal tap in the title.there is an awesome dialogue between some great engineers talking about mastering and all the industry standards are compressing the sh*t out of al songs w/radio [play so,when aNy one in comparison,inevitably will sound really low in volume.i am having the same problem with all my mixes!they sound low.but i am glad i read the thread i speak of,because it really helped me to understand what is going on with the music out there verses the music that has dynamics.anyway the song has a great unique sound and is a breath of fresh air in a twisted kind of way .good stuff-

Thnx.... you made my day.

I just wanted to say thanks and stuff.... there are so many times i try to reach out and hear someone else's opinion and get NO feedback.... this is great.