I'M a Newbie! My first Mix & I need help!

gAngsTa

Hi! I'm new to this forum and this is my first thread on this board. First of all, I've just recently got into the music world and happen to own a home recording setup: Digidesign M-Box 2 with Pro Tools LE 7.3, Presonus TubePre mic preamp, a pair of M-audio BX8a and BX5a as my monitors, a cheap condenser mic, and an M-audio Oxygen 8 midi keyboard. OK, here into the main purpose of this thread.

I have recorded a song for my friend awhile back, and was in the process of making the song from scratch. As I mentioned above, Im very new to the music business, and my skill is limited. So here I am asking you guys to help me out cause im pretty much stuck, and I'm not sure if I even started this whole process right at first. So please listen and give me some comments along with recommendations on how to do it right. It's an old Vietnamese song so please disregard the language of the song. By the way, Im still working on this song. It's not completed yet!

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=JWAGM8ODMXFY

Last edited:
Sounds pretty good to me. Maybe the vox are a bit loud. I was listening in headphones, sometimes that makes me write things that are wrong. Actually, you could look into the levels of some of the other sounds there too...a bit loud maybe...the bassoon...is it a bassoon? It challenges the vox even. I dunno, it's pretty good.

strings are cheezy sounding but i like the riff. add lite verb to piano. also, back off the mic (proximity) and don't be afraid to experiment with eq and verb on vocals. i like the piano riff. instrument at 1:15 is way too loud. kick is way too loud. i'd add bass line when drums come in. take out that clarinet (?) when the vox come back in or back it off to the side. nice composition though !

The sax sample isn't good enough, the bass drum is too thuddy.
Sometimes the vox are too loud & at others to lost. You'll need to even out the mix.