Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: I will review more songs...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    45
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Wink I will review more songs...

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hmm, I find it strange that so many people get angry about me rating some songs.
    Well, I think I'll take it with good humour and make a new thread for it.

    Maybe I should start to rate the negative responses as well:

    Giving scores from 1 to 10 on:

    1. Negativity
    2. Language used
    3. Humour
    4. Originality
    5. "I rule this forum" factor
    6. General mix of emotions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    45
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Reviewing

    I will review the first 5 pop/rock songs again. (no metal/hip-hop/classical/instrumentals a.s.o.)

    I will only review finished songs.
    Pick one of your songs only for critics/reviewing.

    Include in your info/reply (links without these will not be reviewed):

    1. Working streaming link of one song only:
    2. Genre and influences
    3. Lyrics.
    4. Instruments/ gear used.

    I will give scores from 1 to 10 on the following:

    1. Melody
    2. Vocals
    3. Instrumentation
    4. Lyrics
    5. Quality of mix
    6. Overall impression

    Looking forward to hear some quality rock and pop.

    _______________________________________________________

    RČOS is at:
    Streaming 128:
    http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/r2osmusic.htm
    Download 320:
    http://www.r2os.com/r2osmusic1.html
    Edit/Delete Message

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    In New Hamster
    Age
    44
    Posts
    640
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    68
    Where do you draw the line between rock and metal? Give some examples...
    My Meat Has Worms...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Age
    57
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    here's my recording : Open Season

    1. Working streaming link of one song only:
    www.stephan-musik.de/OpenSeason.mp3

    2. Genre and influences
    Tim Mc Graw

    3. Lyrics.
    VGRSG 1:
    Here's to the corners yet to turn
    Here's to the bridges yet to burn
    Here's to the whole thing blown apart
    It's open season on my heart

    VGRSG 2:
    The days go by like flying bricks
    Leave gaping holes too deep to fix
    I'd just stay home if I were smart
    It's open season on my heart

    CHORUS:
    I can't blame anyone but me
    This reckless fool I've come to be
    My tired excuses just don't fit
    It don't look good from where I sit

    VGRSG 3:
    I've tried to change without much luck
    I reached the point where I get stuck
    I hit the streets and the fireworks start
    It's open season on my heart

    CHORUS 2:

    I can't be something that I'm not
    I can't give what I haven't got
    I don't know where or why or when
    I only know the shape I'm in

    VGRSG 4:

    So here's to the clown down in the mouth
    Here's to the whole thing going south
    My own true love's turned poison dart
    It's open season on my heart

    Here's turning heartaches into art
    It's open season on my heart

    4. Instruments/ gear used.

    Acoustic guitar : Takamine EN-20
    Electric Guitar : Fender Telecaster American Deluxe with Steel Bar
    Bass : Fender Precision Japan Copy
    Drums : VST Plugin : Groove Agent
    Microphone : AKG C535
    Harmonizing Effect unit : TC-Helicon "VOICE-LIVE"

    Cubase SX on Pentium 4/ 3,3Gig, 1G RAM, P4P800 MB,
    Waves RVerb
    Waves True Verb
    Waves Compressor C1, L2, C4
    Waves EQ
    Guitar-Amp : VST Plugin TC-Thirty

    RME Mulitface, RME Quad Mic
    TC Electronic Powercore DSP Platform


    Best regards
    Steve

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    389148
    ok, i seem to have gotten over my first mp3 review. so here you go.

    1 - link:

    http://www.trianglepackage.com/chris/chp/valentine.mp3

    2 - genre/influences
    pop/rock - maybe the cure is an influence

    3 - words
    try, i really try, to write a , sticky love song for you
    try, to make you cry, but my words aren't swords or sweets and
    why, i don't know why, it always comes out minor chords and
    feeling kind of blue
    feeling kind of blue
    sweet romnaticism eludes me
    dark clouds throw me down and use me
    dig my way out of this pop culture hole
    throw me a rope and help me, save my soul
    try, i really try, to write a , sticky love song for you
    try, to make you cry, but my words aren't swords or sweets and
    why, i don't know why, it always comes out minor chords and
    feeling kind of blue
    feeling kind of blue
    supposed to be all flowers and candy
    dozen roses vases dandy
    it's another kodak moment
    picture of my inner torment
    try, i really try, to write a , sticky love song for you
    try, to make you cry, but my words aren't swords or sweets and
    why, i don't know why, it always comes out minor chords and
    feeling kind of blue
    feeling kind of blue
    <lead stuff>
    try, i really try, to write a , sticky love song for you
    try, to make you cry, but my words aren't swords or sweets and
    why, i don't know why, it always comes out minor chords and
    feeling kind of blue
    feeling kind of blue
    feeling kind of blue
    feeling kind of blue

    4 - instruments/gear

    carlos acoustic guitar
    epiphone bass
    pacifica drum set
    sonar

    have a good time
    Chris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Central PA.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    51633
    Quote Originally Posted by roomx
    Hmm, I find it strange that so many people get angry about me rating some songs.
    Well, I think I'll take it with good humour and make a new thread for it.

    Maybe I should start to rate the negative responses as well:

    Giving scores from 1 to 10 on:

    1. Negativity
    2. Language used
    3. Humour
    4. Originality
    5. "I rule this forum" factor
    6. General mix of emotions.

    I think it's the set of rules you impose that pisses me off. And that you are offering it like a service.

    Oh, and fuck off with that shit cause "I" fucking rule this motherfucker ha ha!



    SELECT W.People
    FROM tbl_world W
    WHERE W.Clue = TRUE

    NO RECORDS RETURNED

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    45
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Good question

    Quote Originally Posted by W.I.S.C.
    Where do you draw the line between rock and metal? Give some examples...
    ha ha. True. I should not have written that.

    I'll review it...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    45
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by HangDawg
    I think it's the set of rules you impose that pisses me off. And that you are offering it like a service.

    Oh, and fuck off with that shit cause "I" fucking rule this motherfucker ha ha!
    1. Negativity
    5 Could be a lot worse

    2. Language used
    7 Starts of gently, but then gets better.

    3. Humour
    6 Humour points to the "I rule ..." factor

    4. Originality
    3 Could have come up with something better.

    5. "I rule this forum" factor
    8+ Yes, you gave it almost all you got on this one.

    6. General mix of emotions.
    4 Onnly angry and sarcastic.

    Good luck with your next post.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,692
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21379
    Chugheshc

    I'll comment on your song as roomx seems to be more interested in playing bbs politics. (but bear in mind I'm only a bass player )

    Obviously you need to edit the beginning - problem is it sets the listener to expect something amateurish when it starts with all those clicks and buzzes, not to mention a hihat that goes out of time!

    So it's apleasant surprise when it gets going. I quite like your voice (if it's you) and love the phrasing on some of the lines, I am a sucker for that. You need, I think, just to take the edge of the voice, it's a bit harsh and jarring in places, more experienced ears that me might give you some EQ or compression hints.

    The drums are nowhere near right, they sound boxy, thin and distant, like they were recorded in the next room.

    Otherwise the overall sound lacks mids, it's all muddy bottom and harsh top, sounds like you EQ's the bottom of the guitars to make space for the bass and overdid it. Fluid lead playing which is absolutely spot on for this style - fits well with the vox.

    Bass playing needs tightening both in perforamnce and mixing, it's very flabby and doesn't seem to relate to the drums.

    So, a mixed bag, it's definitely worth more work though, the song is there.
    Couple of our songs on Mixposure here

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    45
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by chugheshc
    ok, i seem to have gotten over my first mp3 review. so here you go.

    1 - link:

    http://www.trianglepackage.com/chris/chp/valentine.mp3

    2 - genre/influences
    pop/rock - maybe the cure is an influence

    3 - words


    4 - instruments/gear

    carlos acoustic guitar
    epiphone bass
    pacifica drum set
    sonar

    have a good time
    Chris
    Rememeber again, these are only my personal, subjective opinions:

    1. Melody
    6 A nice straight forward pop-rock tune. Nice catchy melody.

    2. Vocals
    4+ Sounds like you're short of breath, you're to much in a hurry getting the words said. But it has got some nice edges to it. Maybe you can practice opening your mouth more when you sing, and getting the power and air from you gut... Try to be in charge of the song, when you record the vocals.

    3. Instrumentation
    5 Here I agree with user Garry Sharp (though he is more detailed than me).

    4. Lyrics
    5 Well, nothing much to say. Guess it's ok.

    5. Quality of mix
    4+ I'll try to lean on user Garry Sharp again...

    6. Overall impression
    5++

    This one needs a lot of work before it's finished, but the pleasant melody gives it some extra points.
    Looking forward to hearing the next version...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. I will review the first 5 pop/rock songs
    By roomx in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 10:01
  2. Buncha Songs for review
    By Schmange in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 07:58
  3. subsequent releases of the same songs
    By dobro in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-09-2002, 08:46
  4. 2 songs for review
    By groogleman in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-14-2001, 02:11
  5. Equipment won't write songs for you
    By Vurt in forum Newbies
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-08-1999, 18:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •