I.O.A.A.'s New Song! Tell Us What You Think PLease

surfingcheckers

Hey guys,

I recorded this song in my basement with my band over the past week and I put a ton of effort into it. So if you guys could help me out and give me any info about what I could do to improve it or anything I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance,

Nick

By the way the song is about The Wizard of Oz :)

Fixed URL: http://www.mediafire.com/?dinfzlicm3x

Last edited:
Hmmmmm, not too good, but not awful. The drums sound ridiculous. I understand the typewriter-like kick drum in this genre, but it sounds like a underinflated basketball. The cymbals, snare, everything sounds really canned and fake. Look for more realistic samples and/or use better processing techniques. Actually, the drum programming overall is very lifeless and robotic. I'm not a drum programmer, but I know they can be "humanized". Or maybe this is a real drummer on a bad sounding E-Kit with heavy quantization? I dunno. The bass guitar is completely missing. What is it with this kind of music and the lack of bass guitars? The rhythm guitars are close to being good, but there's a hint of cheapness to the sound. PODs? They lack meat and power. They have good crunch, just no balls. If these are real amps, work on your mic placement. The vocals are what they are. The growly parts sit in the mix well. The "melodic" part is a little quiet and seems to be way off pitch. The harmonies are pretty brutal too. That part was not good. Your mix levels all seem to be pretty good except for the bass gtr. Everything else is audible. The kick and snare is there in full force like they should be, which is usually a problem with many home recordings. So the mix is mostly good, the actual sounds are pretty bad.

Guitars are ass.

They are lacking in brutality and thickness....

Also sounds like one of my headphone mixes. that i don't wsh on anyone. haha.

I would retrack.