Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: I need help with vocals.....pls read

Thanks

I need help with vocals.....pls read

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey all. I'm extremely new to recording and mixing vocals. I've recorded a quick little something for you to listen to. I'm looking for some help on the vocals. Yes it is me singing.... badly I must say but I was the only one around tonight Tell me why it sucks and how to fix it please!

Thanks,
    Jake

http://www3.sympatico.ca/richardsja/...owjamfinal.mp3

Thanks
    I wish MY vocs sucked like that.

It sounds like you have a good voice, pitch is mostly there, though you waver a bit. Nothing like me - I'm the King of Wavering (trademark pending).

The level on the vocs is a bit low, so it's hard to pick up detail, but the vocal tone is thin. It sounds, my best guess, like that's either the signal chain or post-processing that's doing that, rather than a problem with your natural voice.

Are you EQing at all? What mic are you using? How close are you standing?

Without knowing the answers to these questions, I'd say to cut the presence (2-4k) some, bring the level way up, and see if it sounds closer to what you like. High mids would be the next thing I'd cut, if that didn't do it.

Nice changes, BTW, and I like the guitar sound. Not that you asked...

Thanks

Sounds pretty good

I'm actually listening to your song while I'm typing...hehe. I think its sounds pretty good myself except for certain parts.......but they can be easily fixed. I think you have the same problem as I do. I think my voice sounds like ass so I sing a little to weak. Try singing a little stronger and more confident and I think it'll sound good. Catchy song though.....overall sounds really good

Just drink a few beers, redo it, and post again....I promise it'll sound better

Led

Thanks