Hip-Hop Vocal Mix Help

Bray Freeman

I am trying to get better at mixing, but I am a noob. I need to develop better ears for it. I would love for anyone to criticize this song, especially if you can say specific flaws. Right now, I am trying to get a Drake-like mix. The mixes aren't where I want them to be but I just can't quite figure out what is wrong.

Thank you!

Best,

BrayView attachment 107092

Attachments

• MyBest_4 - 10:6:20, 4.30 PM.mp3
    4.1 MB · Views: 12
Last edited:
Hey Bray Freeman, I really like your composition. It's very catchy and I really enjoyed listening to it! As far as the mix is concerned, I only noticed two things that I would try to improve if I were you:

1) The vocals could be a bit more forward relative to the other instruments and more in your face (I think that's generally one of the first things that I notice in the vocals when I listen to this genre of music) You could even try that whispering in your ear effect where the vocals seem to be whispered in both the ears (especially noticeable in headphones) But I have no idea how that's done. As an example, you can listen to 50 cent's in Da Club where the whispering in both ears effect is very noticeable (although it doesn't happen throughout the song and alternates between dead center and whispers in both ears, which adds a nice contrast). I'm sorry if that's not a great example :)

2)Another common thing that I notice in this genre of music (especially the most recent ones these days) is lots of delay on the vocals with longer delay times. I think you can try adding some subtle delay to your vocals here and there as an automation on select phrases, words or even whole sections (I think this will give your vocals a wet sound without pushing them back in the mix and also add a bit of interest from the listener's perspective)

Thank you!