Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Here's An Older Tune...Still Need Opinions!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lockport, IL
    Age
    54
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Here's An Older Tune...Still Need Opinions!

    Sign in to disable this ad
    This was one of the first tunes I recorded about 3 years ago. I'm not sure if I like it or not. I would appreciate your opinion. Thanks! It's called "She"

    http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/...d=2595&alid=-1
    [url=http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3232&alid=-1]Here are some of my tunes. Good for a laugh![/url]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lockport, IL
    Age
    54
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Anyone?
    [url=http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3232&alid=-1]Here are some of my tunes. Good for a laugh![/url]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    995
    (im listening and typing comments as i listen)

    i like the the bass and guitar intro....nice intimate rhythm feel is there. but i feel the vocals has too much reverb (for my tastes that is )

    nice harmonies at 1:30-ish and 2:00.

    other than the vocals having too much reverb, i cant find anything else that's wrong. it sounds pretty cool!

    cheers!
    kb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Outer Limits
    Posts
    1,096
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    336050
    I like it! The reverb doesn't bother me, I wish I could sing like you. Good work!

    You did this 3 years ago? How did you record this song?

    I gotta listen to your other tune. If you have more material post it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lockport, IL
    Age
    54
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    kartikbala-I agree. I think it has too much reverb. Unfortunately, there's nothing I can do with it, as the master has long since been deleted!! I wish I could lessen the verb! Thanks for listening.

    therage--Thanks for the kind words. I do have a couple of other tunes posted here. One of them you can access from my NWR spot. Here is a link to the other.

    I recorded this with a Korg D8. I recorded all the instruments first, bounced them down to 2 tracks and then filled the rest back up with vocals.

    http://home.attbi.com/~beckd7/sounds/Run_Down.mp3

    I've posted this earlier so I won't post it on the forum again. I'm anxious to know what you think. Thanks for listening!
    [url=http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3232&alid=-1]Here are some of my tunes. Good for a laugh![/url]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lockport, IL
    Age
    54
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    I'll take negative criticism!!!
    [url=http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3232&alid=-1]Here are some of my tunes. Good for a laugh![/url]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    incognito
    Posts
    1,210
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    703452

    Thumbs up

    I'm streaming, but this still sounds damn good to me. Anyone ever tell you that you sound like neil young? Well I am . Really, this sounds like something he would do, and I love Neils voice btw. I thought this sounded great man.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    2,385
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    20
    Ooo I like the drum entrance at :50! I was hoping for some of that.

    Maybe you've made some changes since the other responses, but I don't hear the vocals as having too much verb for this. Are there 2 different snares? I'm hearing a weird panning inconsistancy or something. One sounds slightly to the left and one more centered. The one to the left sounds awkard. A panned snare usually throws off the whole balance for me, but I could be imagining it. I see dead people.
    The harmony at 2:30 is well placed. Nice job. Are you using an SM58 for the vocals. Actually to be honest it kind of sounds like SM58's all the way around. IF so, nice job with them. But the vocals lack the clarity that a condensor might give you. Just a thought.

    Nice stuff!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lockport, IL
    Age
    54
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Originally posted by SLuiCe
    Ooo I like the drum entrance at :50! I was hoping for some of that.

    Maybe you've made some changes since the other responses, but I don't hear the vocals as having too much verb for this. Are there 2 different snares? I'm hearing a weird panning inconsistancy or something. One sounds slightly to the left and one more centered. The one to the left sounds awkard. A panned snare usually throws off the whole balance for me, but I could be imagining it. I see dead people.
    The harmony at 2:30 is well placed. Nice job. Are you using an SM58 for the vocals. Actually to be honest it kind of sounds like SM58's all the way around. IF so, nice job with them. But the vocals lack the clarity that a condensor might give you. Just a thought.

    Nice stuff!
    Thanks Sluice! There are not two different snare drums, but I did pan it very slightly to the left...maybe about 11:00. I don't really know why I did that! For the vocals I am using a condensor choir mic. I think it was an audio technica. I borrowed it from the church I used to go to. I think the clarity it's lacking is because I had to stay so far away from that mic. If I got up close, it would just get terribly muddy, even with the pads brought way down. Thaknks very much for listening!
    [url=http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3232&alid=-1]Here are some of my tunes. Good for a laugh![/url]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lockport, IL
    Age
    54
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Just a few more before this one falls into obscurity please!
    [url=http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3232&alid=-1]Here are some of my tunes. Good for a laugh![/url]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •