"Ham And Eggs" First Demo

JohnnyAmato

So this is what I've been up to the last three nights. A simple little jam we used to do live in between songs, wrote it probably 15 years ago. Always wanted to record it, never did until now. Tried some crazy mixing/recording techniques I've never done before.

The mix might be all over the place, I don't fully trust my monitors (M-Audio BX8s) and I simply despise my car stereo.

How does it sound? What stands out?

Ham And Eggs (Demo) | Johnny Amato

Nothing really, it sounds great as is. Don't hear any issues. Proper title, given the vibe and quirkiness of the rhythm guitars. The ONLY thing I'd consider is from a writing perspective - I wonder if the snare should be hit consecutively more often instead of the kick coming right after. I don't know how to write it out in technical music terms, but if the kick is on 1, and the snare is on 2, instead of going to the kick right after the snare, I'd tap that snare again real lightly for two quick hits. I know you put that in there once in awhile, but I think it fits a little better to do it more often. Just a thought, really it doesn't matter much at all.

If you ever get around to it, I'd like to see the MIDI file for your drum work. Mind sending it to me? I'll be able to match it up since I have Superior, no worries there. No biggie if not. Nice work man

Nothing really sticks out to me here. It's a bluesy jam. Everything's balanced. Nothing is harsh or too muddy.
Not super-exciting either, but that's what happens with the blues.

Cool, thanks andru. Was definitely a fun one to do. I layered those guitars more than I normally do, but I like how it came out.

The double-hit on the snare thing I did try in a few other places, but ultimately just decided on where it is now. I wanted to add more leads, but it took away from the main theme which is the chords, so I just left it as is.