GSN Opus Project

Tekker

Hi everyone,

Me and a few others over at Guitar School Network (formerly Guitar Mania) have collaborated on a song that we named "The Opus Project" (for a lack of a better name :D) and would like to get some honest opinions on it.

I did the mixing (and the drums) for it and it is still a work in progress, but I just wanted to get some opinions so that we 'progress' in the right direction. :) So any comments on it would be greatly appriciated.

Thanx,
-tkr

Last edited:
listening....cool intro guitar ......that is agreat drum sound...man.......whew...nice......i thought all the guitars complimented each other pretty good in the mix.....the panning thing is a nice touch....really really good drum sound that is so hard to do congratulations......great ....a little bit of hiss at the begining......but thats about it....im no sound engineer so im sure youll get better critique from those who are...

excellent job

jamal

Thanks for listening jamal, glad you liked it. :)

I recorded the drums with a Radio Shack condensor over my drums pointed at the snare and a Rode NT2 at the other end of my small room at ear level where I have carpeted walls (usually for recording vocals... but it turns out it works great on drums too :)) and then I aligned the NT2 track to match up with then RS and panned them 52% R/L. Then added a Cakewalk stereo reverb and I must say that the Cakewalk reverb was the secret weapon in what brought those two mics together, because without it everything sounded a lot thinner. For kick I used an AKG D112 and scooped the mid EQ with a 10dB high and 5dB low boost at about 10kHz and 100Hz then used the Waves Ultramaximizer plugin and that was it.

My soundcard is an Aardvark Direct Pro 24/96 and I recorded and mixed with Magix Samplitude Producer (v6.04), and I believe that all of the guitarists were using Boss GT6's but I'm not sure what all they were using to record with though...

-tkr