Grunge rock style song thinking Nirvana cica 1993 - Mixing help Newbie

powerbob247

Hi there,

Thanks for your attention on my post, it is appreciated as there are so many posts being made on here its hard to give each one attention and feedback, so im just saying thanks in advance.

I'm new to recording, singing and mixing / production, i did a song about a year ago and posted it up and got some helpfull opinions and advice on mixing, that song was an acoustic so was fairly simple to do but i was picky with the guitar sound so it ended up taking me about a week to finish it. Anyway on to a year later and i decided to do this this morning, i wrote it quick and sang adlib on the fly, instruments are electric guitars, bass guitar, addictive drums vst, and vocals, only effects on vocals are backing vocals which is a lite compressor, the guitar obviously has different effects for each verse, chorus and lead, bass i straight in no effects, theres no reverb or delay on vocals as i found using them made the vocals sound worse, im using cubase 5, theres a multiband compresser, a maximiser and a uv32 which i was told to use by a cubase tutorial. The song is called no reaction and is about 3.40 in length and is verse chorus verse chorus, lead then chorus out, i did a mixdown to 16bit mp3 and put it on soundcloud - Thanks again everybody

no reaction by Stevemeyersmusic on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

There are some noticeable timing issues with the guitar that plays in the left ear starting at 1:43. It gets off beat with the drums the most at 1:58-2:07 (the first bend is always a bit early). Other than that the mix sounds pretty good. I think the guitars are a little loud though. From a musicality standpoint I'm iffy on the vocals, but since it's grunge I guess it's supposed to sound like that, right? Good song overall.