"Golf Clap" Piano Rock (With Accordian!)

quazack

Hello all. I'd appreciate any feedback on this mix (I have very little experience, and reading posts and articles only can do so much). There's no drums, which is going to be strange for some of you. All performing, writing, and mixing was done by me*, so if any of these three things need brushing up, feel free to let me know.

The direct file is here:

Or, if that doesn't work, you can go here:
www.quazack.com/sounds/
And download "golfclap.mp3".

I love you all!

*A few little add-ins were recordings of a bunch of people at a party.

Very cool song! Kinda in the Ben Folds neighborhood, eh? Nice nice nice.

The mix sounds very squashed together, and I feel like I hear some phasey kinda artifacts which makes me wonder if it might be an mp3 encoding problem. What was your signal chain on this one? Anything done to the mix as a whole after mixdown?

The performance is rock solid here. I think the mix just needs to be "opened up" a little.

Welcome to the board!
Chris

It sounds like a cross between the Ben Folds Five and Smile era Beach Boys. I think there's a good song and performance there struggling to emerge, but it's buried in muddy production. I couldn't even hear the accordion. What did you record the tune on? A cassette multitrack recorder?

Personally, I think the little spoked snippets undercut the song. Of course, I can't make out the lyrics at this time, so they could be thematically relevant. But it sounds like you have a good tune in there, and I think you should have faith in letting it play without those snippets.

I may also be a bit long, but there could be a story you're telling that I can't make out and you need all that time to tell the whole thing.