Giving it a genre and sound feedback

Neokibo

Hello everyone, I have a problem, well, two problems.

For one, I have no clue the category my newest composition is in. What genre?

The second problem is the sound itself. This is my first attempt at mastering a piece, since it is for releasing, I need to polish it and I have zero experience.
What I got right and what I got wrong with the sound? Too loud? How does it sound on your end?

Any feedback, I take it. thx.

Attachments

• genre.mp3
    1.2 MB · Views: 18
I'm listening on a laptop with decent earbuds. The mix sounds nice to me . Not a lot of bottom end but the instruments may not be there in this short version you have posted. As far as the loudness , I don't hear any clipping or distortion from being too loud. You really need to get a Lufs meter to check it. You can get a free one from YouLean. -14 Lufs integrated (average) for the Entire song is a good target for streaming. I liked the Arabic feel to it . Genre ? Good job .. mark

Thanks for the reply and thanks for the "YouLean" recommendation, definitely worth checking the LUFS from now on. I had no clue about it.

I liked the Arabic feel to it
To think Arabic before the sound of cat meowing, I can only guess I failed at my goal. :(
It supposed to mimic cats having a chat (meowing).

I called the file "genre", because I need to know what type of music I created while not giving away the name of this song.
Since I am sending the finished product to Bandcamp, it would be great to know the genre for proper categorization to reach its audience. A type of Jazz, Rock…?

Perhaps Electronica.
You know, I went and listen a bit of music in that genre, and you might be right. Checked out Wikipedia and indeed, no real instruments played equals to electronic music. In addition, I follow no rules but feelings, so, the music I create has no true core, I guess.