Funky Jam

WhiteStrat

Don't stare at the eye.
This isn't a new tune--in fact it was done a couple years ago, so I'm not even looking for a critique. This is just a nostalgic post.

I haven't done much recording in the past couple years, and I was going through my SoundCloud account looking for samples to share with a potential recording client, and I came across this one. It's one of my favorites--largely because everything was a "real" instrument. Not even a direct line in. And no VSTs at all! Even though I'm a guitarist, I think the drums are the most important part of a rock tune, and I really like the drum sound on this track. I still have the same setup, but I've lost the drummer--and he was killer. I really need to find a new one...

Howdy - yup, that sounds really good. I've listened a few times already since you put this up.

Even though this kind of thing is pretty far outside of what I listen to, I enjoyed listening to the musicianship and the clarity of the recording, especially from a home recorder's perspective where things often don't come out so tight and organized and professional.

The drummer was like your son-in-law or something, right? I probably shouldn't ask, but how did you lose him?

Howdy - yup, that sounds really good. I've listened a few times already since you put this up.

Even though this kind of thing is pretty far outside of what I listen to, I enjoyed listening to the musicianship and the clarity of the recording, especially from a home recorder's perspective where things often don't come out so tight and organized and professional.

The drummer was like your son-in-law or something, right? I probably shouldn't ask, but how did you lose him?

Yep--he was my son-in-law. And no, he didn't die or go missing in a avalanche or anything crazy--just a plain ol' failed marriage. He and my daughter made it about 3 years...