funk song

BrettB

Hi there,

Here's a funk song I recorded and want to share:

http://netdays.rootspirit.com/data/InMyBackyard(1).mp3

comments welcome

grtz

Brett

That's a really ambitious piece, and you mostly pulled it off. The mix is good too. I just want a little more kick, and a touch more vocal...the vocal FEELS plenty loud, but parts of it are getting covered up by the 10 other things going on, so you either need to carve out a little more space or bring the vocal up in those areas.

Thx for the comments chris!

Your remarks seem recognizable, it is a comment I also got from my teachers (I used this as one of my songs for my graduation project as a Producer, I graduated in june). They really liked the mix, but told me the horns were a bit in the way of the vocals.

Thx for listening! Next time I record such a peice, I will really take notice of it.

Wow,

Cool stuff. I can't even begin to critique the mix since I've never mixed anything this complicated. But I can tell what I hear.

I can't hear the vocals real well. Seem to be masked in some spots by the horns. Which by the way are arranged brilliantly.

I'm not digging the sound of the drum kit. Sounds too Rock and Roll for this piece.

Other than that, man, this is really good.

thx fo thecompliments.

Regarding the drums: I tried to have more of an 'old' sound so it wouldn't sound too slick (it is played on a 60's ludwig). I know that during mixing, I kinda felt sorry I hadn't experiment recording more room mics though.

Thx for the compliments on the horn arrangement. I arranged them, but I have to be honest: my teacher arrangment is considered as one of the best arrangers in the country and he corrected it for me :rolleyes: