First time mixing a full band together

randyfromde

Hey everyone-

If someone could take a listen to my clip, it'd be greatly appreciated. This is the first time I've mixed myself where there has been more than just acoustic guitar, bass, and voice. Now I've got 16 tracks with drums, guitar, bass, vocal, background vocals. Needless to say, it kicked my ass!

Specifically, I am wondering about these things (although any comments are greatly appreciated!):

1. Does anything stick too far out, or not enough? I sometimes think the vocals might be a touch low, some of the cymbal hits a bit high.

2. Does the acoustic guitar sound too "brittle" in the opening of the track?

3. Any effects stick out as overdone? I was pretty sparse on the reverb, tried to be easy on the compression as well.

The mix down track is the raw mix just how it is on my computer, no feable attempts at "mastering"!

I'm not a studio pro or an audiophile but I think it sounds pretty darn good! I like the guitar espescially, how'd you get that tone?? nice strong snare too. The vocals are done well too, did you process them dry?? This track really sits well with me because I don't listening to a whole lot of vocal processing. Well done in my opinion! can you give some specs on how you recorded/mixed it? (what microphones were used, was it recorded via computer? etc..)

Adam

Hey Adam-

Thanks for listening!

Here's how the song came about:

1. Went to a practice space/ "better than home recording (maybe), not quite a 'real' studio" to record the drums.

- Drums were tracked using 8 mics, no real attention to setting them up. Tons of bleed between the mics. Seemed like a mismatched set of Sm57's, Samson dynamics, nothing to make anyone wet their pants. One mic on kick drum, mic above and below snare, one on hi tom, one on low tom, two overheads, one on ride cymbal. All into a Mackie board with leaky preamps (the metronome was in some of the tracks!)

2. Recorded acoustic guitar.