Feedback for a newbie!

Hannah86

Hey guys, new to the forum, joined up to find a place to help me improve on my mixing. This is a rough idea for a song, done some eqing, little compression and reverb, any crit would be greatly appreciated, will be adding vocals in the next week or so and recording a live kit aswell. Thanks

recording test 3

As a newbie here, you've got to participate to get some feedback - listen to others' stuff, etc. Hi-hat is a little sizzly in open hitting. Assume this is a drum sim as the cymbal hits all get muted fast, not very realistic that way, and the drum part itself doesn't vary much. Bass could come up in the mix.

I agree it would help if you give others critiques. Don't worry about being a newbie. Critiques by anyone are almost always welcomed around here.

I thought your mix was pretty good. Good sounding guitars.

Bass was OK, but a little indistinct.

I thought the mix was a little stronger on the right side than the left.

Drums were a little programmed sounding. Pretty much a standard beat with a few cymbal crashes that were way off on the edges of the stereo spread.

A bit tough to tell much more without a vocal. But overall, I thought this was a good start.

I agree it would help if you give others critiques. Don't worry about being a newbie. Critiques by anyone are almost always welcomed around here.

I thought your mix was pretty good. Good sounding guitars.

Bass was OK, but a little indistinct.

I thought the mix was a little stronger on the right side than the left.

Drums were a little programmed sounding. Pretty much a standard beat with a few cymbal crashes that were way off on the edges of the stereo spread.

A bit tough to tell much more without a vocal. But overall, I thought this was a good start.

Ditto that.

The first few seconds sounded solid then at 0:05 an additional guitar or bass kicked in and there were a lot of low mids and muddiness on the left side.