Feedback Needed

NL5

Unpossible!
Well, this is my first attempt at a whole rock band - tell me what's wrong.....

Last edited:
The guitars sound good, and everything sounds well balanced to me. Much better than my first attempt :o !

The snare is a little on the dull side, and the vox can stand to be more exciting. There is still lots of room in the centre, you might consider taking advantage of that. i.e. doubling up vox on key lines.

Seems like the stuff is tracked ok, and the band can play. I just think you need to work on the mix. The things that stand out to me are:
1. kick sounds pretty good
2. snare sounds very dull
3. toms sound dull
4. overall kit sound is not fitting into the space the way the guitars are.
5. The guitars are close, but a bit dull
6. vocals are not sitting in the mix nicely. they also seem too loud, maybe as much as three db.

Reactions: NL5
caryindy said:
Seems like the stuff is tracked ok, and the band can play. I just think you need to work on the mix. The things that stand out to me are:
1. kick sounds pretty good
2. snare sounds very dull
3. toms sound dull
4. overall kit sound is not fitting into the space the way the guitars are.
5. The guitars are close, but a bit dull
6. vocals are not sitting in the mix nicely. they also seem too loud, maybe as much as three db.

OK, I'm going to try and fix some of the issues in the morning. However, I'm not sure how to go about the drums. Can you explain a little more about points 2,3, and 4? I already have boosted the high end of the snare pretty well, and I do agree that it is somewhat dull (the recording itself is really off on the snare - sounds unnatural). It just seems to get worse sounding if I try to brighten it up any more. Is there a different way to go about it? I would like to re-record the drums, as thats the only part I didn't record, and they were recorded way differently from how I normally do - however, that isn't practical at this point.

Thanks for the help!!!

NL5