Feedback on first mix?

annabelluketic

Hi, I’m a beginner learning to mix- just got this song off a multitrack site and thought I’d give it a go using Protools First.

I understand that I’ve got a long way to go from here so I’m asking for some constructive feedback on my first mix: Where do I go from here? What can I start learning today that will help make my next mix more professional? What’s my next step?

Also, this was a live recording and I think the vocalist was moving around quite a bit but I wasn’t sure how to fix it- what can I do about this? Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• Slow Down.mp3
    2.9 MB · Views: 11
First thing that sticks out is the clicky kick drum. Almost sounds like a metronome.
You probably need to EQ it pretty aggressively; maybe apply drum replacement entirely.

Did you compress the vocal? That can help gloss over her technique being inconsistent.

I agree with Steve on the kick drum being too bright. It clearly needs some bass boost. The mix somewhat reminds me of the late 70s disco era mixes but without the driving kick and bass lines. Some bottom would make it more reminiscent of Gloria Gaynor's I Will Survive. That same "metronome" type bass is found all over the disco hits. Go back and listen to Stayin' Alive. Same beat, same kick.

Given the performance, that's probably the direction the song needs.

I didn't find the vocal inconsistency to be too obvious. Sometimes it give things a bit of realism, some "humanity". I don't think i would try to compress it a lot.