Drum Mixing Feedback

Asuka98

So, this is my first time recording drums. Be merciful. :-)

Style should be rock, but not super heavy rock. Maybe folk rock.

Here is a test file:

It took me about two hours to set up the mics, and I just ripped these out to practice mixing, one take and everything, so don't focus on my not-too-steady rhythm. :-)

Mics:

* one Audix F12 inside the kick pointed at the beater
* one homemade subkick (7" woofer) in front of the kick
* one Audix F10 on each tom (floor, mid, and high)
* one Shure SM57 on the snare
* two Studio Projects C4s for overheads with omni capsules, set up according to:
http://www.homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=39030

(where you put the right overhead directly over the snare drum, and the left overhead over the drummer's shoulder, both equidistant from the snare drum and bass drum to keep them in phase)

Everything but the overhead is gated to reduce crosstalk, compressed a little to bring out the attack and shape the decay, and then EQed a little. The snare is also processed with a little tube plugin to try to warm it up a bit.

This is really a dry run... I'm going to be recording several tracks in a few weeks for demo purposes, but since I've never recorded drums before I thought I'd get a little feedback first.

I mixed this on brand new M-Audio BX5a's I got from my wife for my birthday, so I haven't really heard if the bass is done correctly yet.

So, thoughts? I'm most unhappy with the snare; it's okay, but I'd really like it crack more. Is the key to that to tune the drum differently? Do I need to do anything else in particular about tuning or mixing?

Thanks in advance.

Hey there. They dont sound that bad at all. Everything seems nicely balanced. The only thing is every is a little muddy. Then again that could be my speakers. But it might help to cut out a little bit from 300-500hz on all the drums. I'm no expert so I could be completly wrong :D Hope this helps

Thanks, Mr. Pie.