Critique and help required - metal!

schismatic

Hey guys, I realise that this song is early in production, i've basically done hardly anything to it except record. I am looking for a large, in-your-face sort of sound. I'm covering Hand of Blood by Bullet For My Valentine (feel free to check it out to compare mine to the original), and I would like some advice on how to mix it better. I'm completely new to mixing, and unfortunately am not using great monitors to do it. When I listen to what I've done so far, I feel that my guitars sound a bit muddy and not bright enough even though they're meant to be heavy and chugging. I would also like some help on drum levels and in particular the cymbals and hi-hats - have no idea how i should be placing these within a mix. My drums are drumkit from hell samples through battery and the guitars and bass are me. I suppose I'd just like some opinions and pointers about how to settle everything into the mix better.
You can find my very unmixed version so far at: Hand Of Blood (Un-mixed)

Thanks!

Tom

I think... there's some cymbal (china?) a bit too up and kick and snare a tad low. Guitarsound was ok to me. Haven't heard the original...though..

thanks for having a listen, I appreciate it! I'll try doing what you suggest and see if i get a good result. I still think those guitars could be brighter and more 'together' if you get me, I'm a bit clueless about how to make this happen though - eqing to get them a bit brighter? How would I know which frequencies?? Is there some sort of analyser I can use?