Can't play guitar..

F_cksia

..and that's actually no problem at all, I just can't set an amp to a nice sound. It always stays harsh and all.
It's quite logical, knowing that I'm actually a pianist/ drummer but I think a little (or a lot) knowledge on sounding a guitar-amp good without the guitarist's help is really necessary.

To demonstrate how it sounds now I made a very cheesy kindof 'song', just 3 chords and stuff, so no comments about the song please, just about what lacks about the guitarampsettings.

I made a quick recording of the amp (Marshall Valvestate) with a Rode NT1, and cut off some of the lower freqs.

Is it also possible it's the guitar? Please help a frustrated non-guitarist out. Thanks!

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/?aid=2755/singles
it's the middle one.

I'm primarily a guitarist.... and my songs have a very wide variety of guitar tones. I think when you start talking about guitar tone you have to talk about preamps and processors.

The type of guitar impacts the tone hugely.... but even some lousy guitars can sound really good through the right stuff.

I tend to think of my amp as neutral or flat and then change the tone with effects. Especially true if recording from effects direct.

For micing my amp "63 blackface Bandmaster", I prefer an SM57 to a condenser mic.

What do you mean by harsh? If you mean distorted, you may need to reduce the gain down to its lowest setting and just ride the volume switch on the amp.

Well it didn't sound all that awful to me.

I'm hearing more harsh midrange in the distorted guitar on the right side. Not sure what you have available on your amp, but I would turn down the mid and/or high dials. Maybe boost the bass. There are some nice inexpensive preamps that can help make a nicer sound.

The left side sounded better - unless I'm going crazy.

Looking on the meters, there's a lot of content in the 2500hz-3000hz range, again it seems to come more from the right side.