Can you review my mix? - a basic hardcore song

Hubbawho

Hey everyone, I just recorded these guys 2 days ago and I "finished" mixing 1 song. I'd like you all to review it before I attempt to go any further. The song is on their myspace...it's the first one entitled, "To The Face".

www.myspace.com/hyoct

Just let me know what to change...thanks

Very good, in your face sound.....Vocals could be up in the mix a little. They are a bit hard to hear when all the music is playing. Cool tune.
Ed

It's hard to judge stuff like this, because I know it's customerary to brickwall limit and drive the piss out of them, but to me, it sometimes drives the life out of a piece. This is such a "wall of sound" that it's really hard to talk about nuances of production, there really aren't any; it's just all right in your face. And that may in fact be entirely appropriate for the genre. I'm no expert at hardcore. It did sound a bit rich in the very low mids, a bit thin from 1-3K, and the drummer needs to tighten up control on the double pedaling some, the 2nd foot rushes quite a bit on all the speed patterns. The guitarist is on the money.

For what I've heard of the genre, it's certainly a fine example in comparison to some of the crap I've heard. It sounds like you put a lot of effort into it, it's not just chucked together pellmell.

Sounds good... It's cool that there are still CT Hardcore bands around. I'm from CT and was really into hardcore back in 97 to about 2000 or so... It definately has that CT Hardcore sound, even the recording. Good job on it.