Bluegrass tunes

patlang12

Hey everybody. This is my first time posting in the mp3 clinic in a really long time. I have been working on recording and mixing a folk/bluegrass album with one of my bands. I've heard these songs a bunch in a less than perfect listening environment and I'm beginning to lose objectivity. I don't think I've ever worked harder on recordings before so I'd really like to see what you all think. They are still a bit rough and have a few noises to get taken out, but I want to make sure I'm on the right path. No effects have been added to the tracks at all. Here are two of the songs (Outrun The Storm and Whiskey Well) off the album

Attachments

• Outrun Rough.mp3
    3 MB · Views: 29
  • whiskey rough.mp3
    3.7 MB · Views: 14
Nice live feel. If you can bring up the level of the harmonica and mandolin fills closer to the level of the guitar solo, it would work better for me. The bass is at a minimum level in my opinion...it works, but I could use a little more bass unless it muddies things up for some reason.

Thanks for the reply. Are you talking about both songs or just one of them? I think the harmonica might be mixed a bit low because it is very dynamic. I probably should compress or automate it a bit and then bring it up in the mix. I'm glad you think it has a live feel as that is what I'm really trying to go for. I haven't added any reverb to anything (only room mics) but I'm wondering if the vocals would benefit from a touch of it. Suggestions?

I listened to Outrun. Sounds great man. I thought the bass was pretty strong and held down the fort nicely myself.

Yes, I think you should at least try just a smidge of verb on the vocals. The acoustic guitar seemed to dominate a little maybe (although I figure it is kind of the featured thing on this piece), and I also wished for more of a stereo spread myself, but really a very rich, deep and natural sounding recording. Well done!