acoustic fingerstyle mp3's

anton

Hey Everyone,

Just uploaded a few mp3's to some webspace of mine.

http://home.earthlink.net/~emeryfamily/music.html

I mostly arrange celtic tunes for solo guitar.

Gear used is a Martin 000C-E spruce/mahagony.

Mics are a pair of MXL 603's. One mic is pointed slightly down at the lower bout of the guitar, right behind the bridge about 18 in away.

the other mic is pointed straight at the 12th fret area about 15 in away. From there the signal goes through my Mbox and into Pro Tools. Gain on the Mbox is at about 75%. I just recorded them and then mixed down to wav. then mp3. No reverb or anything added.

I'm pretty new at all this, but its fun learning.

anton

I listened to both. Thought the guitar was recorded well. Playing was good at times ...... and not so good at others. But by and large pretty good picking.

What I'd do different? When you pick.... make sure and emphasise the melody. Sometimes you do... and other times it gets lost. And with celtic music..... nice little pauses go a long ways. Think phrasing.

But it was a pretty good job overall.

I listened to both. Pretty good picking my friend. A muff here and there but pretty damned good. I'm guessing that since you're finger picking softly that you have the preamp gain cranked. Even though those mics are cardiod I can hear a TON of the room in the mics (in a bad way). I love this kind of stuff. You're very close.

Thanks alot for the comments guys. It helps alot having complete strangers listen to this stuff, cause they hear things i don't catch.

Track Rat:

You are right, i do have the gain on the Mbox cranked to about 75%. I have a light attack, and often it seems like i just cant a strong enough signal into Pro Tools. When mixing down to .wav i usually have the track and master fader up to max just to get the volume level i want.