2 new songs, please listen and give mix advice!

SittinIdol

Hey guys, it's been a long time since I've been on Homerec! Weird how time flies when you're writing, mixing and playing shows!

I have two new songs that I've done rough mixes on for my band, and I'm looking for some comments from fine professionals like yourselves. Please give them a listen and let me know how they sound!

Some info on the songs:
The drums were tracked in a professional studio (won studio time in a band wars contest)

Everything else was tracked at home (The same place we recorded our whole first album, see http://www.mp3.com/sittinidol to listen)

Ok, here are the songs:

Thanks a lot for listening!

check http://www.sittinidol.com for info on the band

I am not a pro, but I will give you my 2 consumer cents.

Guitar sound is a killer, so is the vocal. Definitely good job on those 2. But, the guitar overpowers the bass in a few spots that I can't hear the bass very well. The kick drum has a little too much "click" sound for my taste. But, that's just my taste.

Overall, this is definitely a good tune/mix, I will let the more qualified people to speak now :)

AL

Hey man, thanks for the tips! I have thought that a bit about the kick drum too.

Just for reference, what are you listening on?

Not much to say here. Great job! The only very tiny thing I might do is make the drums a little wetter. I think a bit more reverb might make them sit better in the mix. That's just my preference though. Maybe that's the sound you were after.

long time , no see.....whats it been, 6 months?.....yeah, ever since you came here begging everybody to vote for your band in that contest......

I feel that nausea starting up again:(

damn good song and recording, btw........

Overhaul:
- kick is not sitting in the mix well at all -- way too prominent, needs more thud and less level
- vocal is too thin and bright - some sibilance (too much EQ??)