1st Time Recording Efforts

SuperCharger

Hey there

I'm just starting out with home recording, I bought some equipment to get me going, a Shure SM57 a new sound card and a Line6 Pod 2. The music I write uses mainly electric guitar but some accoustic, so I wanted to try out recording both seperatly to see what results I could get.

For the accoustic song I did a quick recording of 'Rivers of Babylon' to save time writing something new for now. There are no drums on this track, 2 layers of guitar and lead and backing vocals. I've messed around with the panning, added a little compression, a wee bit of reverb on guitar and vox and left the EQ alone.

The other song is to test out electric guitar with distortion, which I found 'A LOT' more difficult to get any good results. There is an accoustic bridge which I think I'll scrap cuz it doesnt seem to sit well with the rest of the song (sound wise). The song has no bass guitar or vocals and the drums were done in Fruity Loops, but they'll soon be replaced with a drum track done on my Roland V-Drum kit. The song is far from finished as there are still bits that need writing/recording (example; the intro). It's mainly for seeing what sort if sounds I can get from the guitars, and I don't want to add anything else until I get them sorted. There are 2 layers of guitar on the verse, and a single rhythm and lead for the chorus. The bridge was made up of 2 layers of accoustic and 2 clean electric layers (1 with flange effect). I've messed around with the EQ a little and thats about it, no reverb (appart form accoustic bit) or anything else.

Accoustic

Electric

Any tips on panning, EQ'ing, compressing etc would be great.
Am I layering my guitars correctly?

Do they sound rubbish?

Thanks

NOTE: Please right click and 'save as' on the files, cuz for some reason geocities doesnt like having there files left clicked :-/

Hi. Sounds good. Here is my constructive critisisM: