1st pc recording

This was actually very good. Kind a Floydish.
I noticed that kick and snare were too far behind everything but the hat and cymbals were
so close and hard panned and too loud. It did not make me believe that it was a drummer playing all parts of kit.
It was more like drummer was some place on the backstage and two other guys was sitting beside me and hitting hats. ( No headphones here)
Overall: Very good!
Keep posting

Floydish, I'll take that!

I'm using drum machine software. It's good, but I'm still learning to program it to get a better human-like feel.

I have another one posted called She Waits... that has those same two guys on it :D

pretty good for a first one.

definitely don't pan the cymbals as hard

take some highs out of the cymblas. my tweeters got a workout on this one from them and the kick.

turn up the bass track, and try to get the thud part of the kick out a bit more.

the electrics sound pretty good for the first time. a little digital, but still pretty good.

Thanks guys. I went through the whole batch of drum sequences and panned more to center, reduced some levels on cymbals and tweaked down the highs some. Tried to reduce the low lows plus brought up the bass line a bit. Here's the new version:

Pull Back the Veil, again

Let me know if that's better, as I'm not using great monitors here. Thanks!

EDIT: when I uploaded this version, I overwrote the first one. Both links go to the same file. Oops.

T

well, i *had* drafted a critique pretty much detailing a lot of what it seems like you fixed. ;-) i'll have to grab the new version and give it a listen. here's the critique, just for shits and grins. :D

cheers,
wade

----------------
ease up on that mixbus compressor chief. this thing clips. the drums' pumping like that is often a good indication that you've squashed too far.