Your best advanced mixing techniques

BeniRose

So I've been doing home recording for a while now, but I still feel extremely amateur with the subject. For one I don't and have not taken any classes, everything is self taught. Most of what I do is pretty menial stuff: mic placement, proper signal chain, some EQing, compression, reverb, all the basics I feel I have covered. However, so does every other kid in their basement. I'm looking to start to get more into the reality of recording and mixing, beyond stuff I feel I may as well go to the presets for. I was wondering if anyone had good resources on the more advanced topics of mixing, especially ones that wouldn't be over someone's head in terms of audio engineering concepts. Also wondering if anyone wanted to share their favourite "advanced" mixing technique. Something they feel that once they learned it really started to show an improvement in their mixes.

I know this is a pretty broad topic and it comes with experience and practice, but I really feel like I'm at a brick wall where I'm doing the best I can with what I have, but won't be able to take it a step further until I start taking a more advanced approach to mixing my music beyond putting some inserts on a few channels. For a while I was focusing on getting my dry tracks to sound better so I was mixing from a better position, but I think I've gotten my dry tracks to sound as good as they can with the equipment I have (which isn't great mind you). So that's why I came to you guys for advice on steps I can take towards better techniques that will show some results and aren't quite as mundane as what I've taught myself. Books and websites are greatly appreciated, as are anecdotes! Thanks in advance!!