Virutal Tape machines and Analog Effect

Ex3vious

Hey guys,
I'm somewhat new to audio production. I have read online that the use of virtual tape machine and analog effects can bring life to the sound of your mix.
I've had this program recommended in particular

Slate Digital VTM Virtual Tape Machines Plug-in (download) | Sweetwater.com

So has anyone used this kind of software, does it really make that big of a difference in your music. Here is a link to all of my work. Like I said I'm looking to bring the sound to life, is there anything else that can be done other than buying a $150 plugin?
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-VtqS6yGfp3cwNUQ75HPlg

so buy a mix console for thousands of dollars lol.

More specifically I should have asked, what can be done other than using a virtual tape machine to bring music to life?

Play well and have great recorded tone in a room that sounds good with good mics. Done.

:)

Seriously, there is not a plugin that 'brings music to life'. Hopefully the music does that.

There are many things that can get you there, but no magic plugin.

But I'm fine with my tone and playing, the mix always sounds a little muddy or dead. There has to be something I'm missing

But I'm fine with my tone and playing, the mix always sounds a little muddy or dead. There has to be something I'm missing

Well then what you need to look into or more accurately 'find' is a way to get each instrument to work in the mix. EQ would be my #1 suggestion.

This is basic advice to start with:

HPF on most everything that does not need low end. Sweep the frequency up until it kills the tone, then back it off a bit.

Muddy sounds can build up quickly around 200 to 500k. Start by using a fairly tight 'Q' on a parametric eq for each instrument. Find what is creating the 'mud'. It can be just two instruments battling for space.