The Ultimate Mixing Thread!!!!!

Raydio

Hey guys, I was just reading that one Sonusman thread and it covered a lot of issues. I've also noticed that most of the questions that exist in this forum come from engineers who want to know all the "tricks" to fixing problems in the mix.

Im a novice engineer, but I have a nice understanding of most of the effects processors out here. Most engineers say things like "Adding a delay on vocals can make em thicker", or "Reverb on strings sets them back in the mix". These are the type of tips that people like to recieve because it tells them specifics of how to fix that common issue.

What Im asking from everyone who reads in this forum, is to list common issues that you noticed "wannabe" engineers encounter a lot and the solutions you use.
These can range from making vocals stand out, making vocals sit better, getting rid of mud, getting that "Cher" sound, making your guitar sound something like an old Beatles record, neat tricks with a phaser, neat tricks with reverb, neat tricks with delay, making that "telephone-like" voice using EQ, maybe a link to a great site; OR OTHER NEAT STUDIO TIPS YOU WISH TO SHARE TO HELP THE FORUM OUT!!!!

You guys can slam this thread, but I feel that if everyone were to list common screw ups they seen and ways they know to make it better, it can stop all the repeatative threads this board has. We see articles on the net all the time explaining things, but sometimes the message board can put things in simpler terms ya know! God bless you all, and thanks!

I guess I'll contribute some stuff I learned from this forum over the past few months, LOL.