Toontrack EZmix 2

Doesn't seem so bad to me... Looks like it's kind of a bunch of plugs and FX chains presets ready to go. One would still need to know how to use them all - it's not *hopefully* an algorithm that'll just look at your sounds and auto-mix your tune for you. It also seems like part of it's intention is to free one from the need to use mics on their instruments, what with the amp sims and stuff. This, with AD, EZD or DFH and you've got basically no need for anything but a vocal mic.

But in all seriousness, do you sometimes feel like a bit of a Luddite? I'm still a newb in terms of experience (I've only been doing this for a couple of years now) but I mean, with all this new technology coming out it's easy to rail against it in favour of the old ways but maybe they're not all so bad. Jimmy69, did you end up trying out that AAMS thing?

Myself, I really enjoy the details of it all: Getting to know how a compressor actually changes a sound, playing subtle tricks with an EQ to make things sound closer or farther away, learning the tiny differences a microphone will impart of different source material - but I can understand how this might not be everybody's bag. Some folks just want to throw something together and have it sound like a finished product in the shortest amount of time possible. I might not agree with that stance but I do get it.

Last edited:
Yeah, and it didn't sound to bad actually. I'll stick to my plugs, and send to a ME when I am serious about getting it right. A second set of trained ears is priceless IMO.

I'm a total luddite and I don't care. And I love the term "luddite" and how it's found a solid home on internet forums. No one used that word before internet banter became all the rage. Now everyone's a luddite to someone else. It's awesome.

Anyway, my luddite self thinks stuff like this is exactly what we don't need. Anything that helps talentless shmoes record more bad music is not a good thing.