Thoughts/help on this mix I'm working on?

guillaume1086

Hey guys,

First off I hope I'm posting this in the right section... I wasn't sure if I should post here or into the "Mix This" forum... anyway don't blame me if I got it wrong! :drunk:

Ok so I'd just like to share with you guys a lil mix I'm working on, I seem to encounter a very commun problem which is "mud" or "muddy mix". I'm fine with this mix as I'm aware I'm just starting out and I can't have it all mastered right away (this is the first artist I recorded other than myself) and there's no big expectations on this project, it's just a friendly collaboration, but still I want to do it the best I can. So even if the mix could stay that way because it is audible I feel like there are a lot of things that could be improved still. Here is a link to the song so you can understand what I'm talking about:

soundcloud.com/guillaumerottier/11-adelaide-to-la/s-WWTG2TPEHrj

It's pretty busy as I have the "producer" role and tend to have a lot of arrangements ideas, so I added violons, xylophone, a lot of backing vocals, etc....... I feel like not every part has got it's place in the mix even if it's still audible, I feel like no part really stands out it's just all a big mess... I really tried to EQ every instruments depending on other ones I EQed before, I used HPF on every tracks that needed it... I used a lot compression, maybe too much? On almost every track. I tried to minimise the use of reverb and maximise the use of distortion... Well I guess that's about it.

I have to say that I wasn't helped in the first place because it was recorded with a (very very) shitty guitar straight into a Focusrite Clarett 8 Pre and my friend is really not a good player (I guess we can say the same about me on drums), and I know that the most important part of a mix is the recording/playing part. So that explains (and reassures me :rolleyes:) maybe a little but it's not all of it.

Soooo what do you guys think? Any thoughts??